The top shot position in D Grade was shared between Jaz Hamilton and Mitesh Mistry, both scoring 90.1 ahead of Wynter Tickle with 89.0.  Clive Brodie scored highest in C Grade with 95.2, followed by Inge Little with 94.1.  In B Grade Dianne Grain’s 98.4 was best, with Mark Riley 2nd highest with 96.2.  And in the higher grades, only an inner separated Meredith Ackrill (98.6) and Erin Little (98.5).

New 20-shot PBs were recorded by Inge Little (195.7) and Jaz Hamilton (186.2).  Meredith Ackrill scored highest with 197.10, ahead of Erin Little with 196.7 followed by a flurry of 195s (David Grain, Inge Little and Mark Riley).

The Final 10 of the closed champs competition was contested on Monday.  Meredith Ackrill scored 198.11 to move up three places, finishing in 2nd position behind Neil Kinsey of Wellington Central who set a new record total of 795.60.

The Wellington v Hutt Valley C Grade match was held on Friday evening.  With Hutt Valley only able to field a seven-person team, the best seven Wellington scores therefore formed the Wellington result, and gave Wellington a win by 24 points.  The highest Wellngton score was shot by Inge Little, closely followed by Jaz Hamilton.  Jack Day recorded a new PB in this match of 97.3.

Our winning interclub teams competed against Hutt Valley on Friday.  Upper Hutt were the Hutt Valley B Grade winners but as they were unable to form a team, Petone Central competed instead.  The Brooklyn B Grade team won the match by 3 points, with Mark Riley taking top honours with 194.12.  Upper Hutt defaulted to our C Grade team – top shot in the match was Inge Little with 189.7.  In the Open Grade interclub match, Wainuiomata were successful against Wellington Central.

Results from the Titipounamu Match are now available.  Wellington finished in 6th position (out of 12 teams). Auckland were the 2020 winners, ahead of Taranaki and Hutt Valley.  Interestingly Taranaki and Hutt Valley’s total scores were identical, with Manawatu only four inners lower, followed by Waikato a point behind, so a very tight competition with only a point separating four Associations for 2nd place.

Tickets ($40 each) are now available for the WSRA Annual Prizegiving Dinner, being held at the range on Saturday 7 November at 6.30pm (doors open at 6pm).  To order tickets, please advise Inge Little and make payment direct into the WSRA bank account including your name under reference, and “Dinner” under Code.  Parents, partners, siblings and friends are all welcome.

Upcoming events

  • Friday 16 October, 7.30pm, Club Delegates Meeting.
  • Tuesday 20 October, Champion of Champions Match.  8.00pm, 1x10, C and D Grades.  8.20pm, 1x20, Club Champion, Master, A and B Grades.  Champions to be named Monday 19 October.
  • Sunday 25 October, Final club night.
  • Saturday 7 November, 6pm, WSRA Annual Prizegiving Dinner.