Welcome to our newest member, Hamish Guthrey. After shooting so well on the rest over the past few weeks, Hamish moved into sling and jacket this week, and continued to shoot extremely well, scoring 88.2 and 89.2 - pretty impressive for the first time in the sling.

A quieter week at the club with it being a free week as well as the middle of the school holidays, but a good opportunity to catch up on missing scores or generally to get in some long overdue practice. In the college training squad, Alex Hill recorded the best score - a new PB of 93.3, followed by Elena Torres with 90.0. Luisa Kristen was top shot in D Grade, shooting 93.1, followed by Neakiry Kivi with 92.2, while congratulations go to Rhys Mountain for scoring a phenomenal 91.1, a new PB three points higher than his previous best - fantastic! Top shot in C Grade this week was Erin Little with 94.4. It should be noted that Luisa, Neakiry, Rhys and Erin all took part in last week's C and D Grade training session so huge thanks to the efforts put in by the coaches.

Mark Riley scored highest in B Grade with 96.2, Ross Little shot an estimated 100.2 in A Grade, and top Master Grade shooter this week was Pratik Tailor with 100.6. Pratik also scored the best 20-shot score of 199.12 which included another 100.6, followed by Michael Grain with 198.14.

Congratulations to Pratik Tailor on winning the Simon Grant Memorial Trophy for top Wellington Master Grade shooter at the Wellington Open Champs on Saturday; also to Meredith Ackrill on being awarded the Ada Kinsey Women's Memorial Cup for top Wellington woman; and to Ross Little on finishing in 3rd place in A Grade. It was great to have 15 Brooklyn members shooting and helping to run these champs - thank you!

Results are available from the third round of the Wellington closed champs competition. Michael Grain has once again extended his lead in Master Grade after shooting 100.5 in this round, and Pratik Tailor remains in 2nd place. David Grain has a very good six-point lead in A Grade, and Ross Little moves to 3rd place, an inner behind 2nd place. In B Grade Sergey Kladnitski is 3rd; in C Grade Jialin Sae-Jiw moves up again to now be in 2nd position; and in D Grade Neakiry Kivi also moves up to 3rd place. Alex Hill is the top Brooklyn shooter in the first-year section, currently in 4th place. The top three placings in the women's section continue to be held by Brooklyn shooters (Meredith Ackrill, Dianne Grain and Jess Fair), and in the junior section Brooklyn shooters are currently in eight of the top nine positions with Ross Little, Jess Fair, Sergey Kladnitski and Maor Ben-Shahar the top four. The deadline for Round 4 targets is Sunday 27 July.

Highlights from the results of Round 2 of the Triple S competition are as follows:

  • Sergey Kladnitski continues to lead both B Grade and the open competition, ahead by two points.
  • Our top shooter in C Grade is Callum Osborne in 6th position.
  • Neakiry Kivi remains our top D Grade shooter, currently also in 6th place.
  • In the ungraded section Matthew Canlas is 6th, while Alex Hill, Elena Torres, Samantha Jordan and August Gould battle out 8th to 11th places in this grade.
  • Wellington College 1 is currently 2nd in the teams competition, Marsden are 6th and Wellington Girls are 11th.

The Manawatu Open Champs are being held this weekend. This is the fifth of the six matches making up the Wellington Provincial Champs, with the final match being the Horowhenua Champs on Saturday 9 August. If you require assistance with transportation of equipment, please let me know.

Upcoming events:

  • Thursday 17 July, 7.30pm, Round 5 NDC. Open team: Meredith Ackrill, David Grain, Dianne Grain, Michael Grain, Evan Little, Pratik Tailor. Composite team: Craig Fair. Junior team: Jess Fair, Ross Little, Sergey Kladnitski. Emergency: Callum Osborne.
  • Saturday 19 July, Manawatu Open Champs.
  • Wednesday 23 July, 8.15pm, 1x20, Interassociation Open Match. #1 team: Pratik Tailor, Ross Little, Meredith Ackrill, David Grain.#2 team: Dianne Grain, Jess Fair. On call: Callum Osborne.
  • Sunday 27 July: deadline for Round 4 closed champs targets.
  • Tuesday 29 July, 8.15 pm, Interassociation Women's match. Team to be selected Sunday 20 July.
  • Wednesday 30 July, Round 5 interclub match. Teams to be selected Sunday 20 July.