Congratulations to Georgia Karantze on shooting her first ever 100, doing so at the Teams of Five rep match on Monday.  Summer O’Dwyer was top shot, while Wiko du Toit was third highest.  Both Georgia and Wiko recorded new 20-shot PBs of 194.8 and 195.6 respectively.  The match consisted of 2x20 shot targets and is contested between B Graders and below from associations around the country.  The #1 team achieved a good result, while the #2 team scored their best result for a number of years.  Full results will be available next month.

Thanks to Wiko du Toit for providing the following summary of the Triangular Open Grade match held on Saturday: Wellington shot well compared to the other two teams but just fell short of a few points and came 3rd place with a total score of 2881.116, whilst closely following Wairarapa who came 2nd with a total score of 2893.115, and a strong 1st place TSHV team with a total score of 2916.129. Congrats to Craig Fair shooting a 99.1, great atmosphere today in the range.  It’s really good to receive reports on matches from those involved.

Full marks to our junior shooters on their proactivity in organising themselves, and their team mates, in Round 2 of the college competition shot yesterday.  Thinking ahead and taking responsibility are highly desirable attributes in a club of our size, and much appreciated by our more senior members.  Congratulations go to Marsden on scoring the best team score in Round 2 and moving up from 4th position to 2nd to be awarded the runner-up teams trophy.  Onslow held their lead from Round 1, finishing three points ahead of Marsden.  Wellington College finished in 4th position behind Upper Hutt.  Also congratulations to Summer O’Dwyer on winning the top individual trophy and the top girl trophy in this match – starting in 7th place, Summer shot a very impressive 100.6 to finish a point ahead.  Seven of our shooters have been selected for the Wellington secondary schools team to shoot next Sunday against other regions from around New Zealand (Summer O’Dwyer, Wiko du Toit, Georgia Karantze, Luisa Kristen, Shambhavi Choudhury, Jack MacCormick and Oscar Robinson) – well done!  And thanks to our helpers David Grain, Evan Little, Craig Fair, Mark Robinson and Dianne Grain.

2016 Marsden 2   2016 Marsden 1


Evan Little scored the best 20-shot score this week of 198.10 closely followed by Pratik Tailor 197.13, David Grain 197.11 and Dianne Grain 197.11.  Pratik Tailor was highest in Master Grade with 99.6, while Evan Little scored an inner more than David Grain in A Grade – 98.6 and 98.5 respectively.  Summer O’Dwyer’s 100.6 was best in B Grade, and Hamish Guthrey was top shot in C Grade with 97.4 followed by Mark Riley with 96.2.  The top five in D Grade this week were Georgia Karantze 97.4, Oscar Robinson 97.4, Qiyun Goh 96.2 (a new PB), Wiko du Toit 95.4 and Melchior Meares 94.5 (also a new PB).  It was great to see so many of our D Graders shooting 20-shot cards again this week – top shot was Oscar Robinson 190.3 (new PB) followed by Wiko du Toit 189.6.  Other new PBs were shot by Yiannis Fam (182.1), Theo Lynch (171.0) and Georgia Beatson (93.2).

Good luck to all those involved in the Osmond Shield and Wright Cup matches on Saturday.

Upcoming events:

  • Saturday 3 September, 7.30pm, Osmond Shield and Wright Cup matches, 1x10.  Osmond Shield #1 team: Pratik Tailor, Meredith Ackrill, David Grain, Evan Little, Summer O’Dwyer, Callum Osborne, Craig Fair, Wiko du Toit.  Osmond Shield #2 team: Dianne Grain, Ross Little, Jess Fair, Andrea Tuohy, Mark Riley, Georgia Karantze, Hamish Guthrey, Oscar Robinson.  Wright Cup #1 team: Wiko du Toit, Gerogia Karantze, Hamish Guthrey, Mark Riley, Oscar Robinson, Ollie Tuohy.  Wright Cup #2 team: Amalamo Simi, Inge Little, Greg Mason, Luisa Kristen, Erin Little, Neakiry Kivi.
  • Sunday 4 September, 2.00pm, secondary schools match, 2x10.  Wellington team: Summer O’Dwyer (captain), Wiko du Toit, Georgia Karantze, Luisa Kristen, Shambhavi Choudhury, Jack MacCormick.  On call (invited to shoot): Oscar Robinson.
  • Sunday 4 September, deadline for Round 4 Triple S.
  • Sunday 4 September, deadline for Round 6 closed champs.