Congratulations to Bex Gibbs and Meredith Ackrill on their selections to the New Zealand women’s team.  Both shot extremely well in the North v South match (399.31 and 397.20 respectively) with Bex’s score being the highest of all 34 shooters (and also including a 100.10), giving her the captaincy of the New Zealand women’s team.  They then continued their fine form, scoring 298 and 297 respectively on UK targets.  And Bex was awarded the trophy for top aggregate score from both matches – fantastic shooting!

Another excellent result for Brooklyn in Round 6 of the interclub competition, with all three teams recording wins and the open grade team achieving their best team score this season.  2019 interclub winners are as follows:

  • C Grade – Brooklyn with 20 points, followed by Melrose with 10 points
  • B Grade – Melrose with 22 points, followed by Brooklyn with 17 points
  • Open Grade – Brooklyn with 15 points, followed by Wellington Central with 10 points.

And Evan Little has won the Open Grade individual aggregate trophy with a score of 786.46 (an average of 98.3 per card) – well done!

It was great to see so many of our newer shooters taking the opportunity to have a go at a 20-shot target this week, with many pleasing results particularly Jack Day’s new PB of 181.5.  The highest 20-shot score overall this week was recorded by D Grader Stephen Thessman (195.11).  In the 10-shot competition, David Grain’s 98.6 was best in A Grade, while Dianne Grain shot highest in B Grade with 97.4.  Top honours in C Grade went to Inge Little with 97.5 followed by Emily Lockery with 95.3.  And the four best D Graders this week were Ferghus Meighan with a new PB of 93.3, Stephen Thessman 93.1, Ryan Day 92.3 and Finn Ashby 90.0.

Closed Champs results are now available for Round 5.  With one round to go, Meredith Ackrill is 2nd in Master Grade and leading the Women’s competition, Evan Little is 3rd in A Grade only a point behind the leaders, Erin Little moves to 1st place in B Grade, Casey Israelson is 2nd in C Grade and Juniors, Stephen Thessman and Cassie Truscott are the top two in D Grade, and David Grain is 2nd in the Veteran’s section.   The deadline for the final round is Sunday 1 September.

The Osmond Shield and Wright Cup matches are being held on Saturday 31 August, with the first squad commencing at 7.30pm.  This is probably the most interesting and hotly contested club competition on the calendar.  The Wright Cup match comprises teams of six shooters (all C and D Graders) with the best five scores counting, and the Osmond Shield match comprises teams of eight shooters (only four of whom can be A Grade or Master Grade) with all scores counting.  Teams will be selected on Friday 23 August.

Upcoming events:

  • Thursday 22 August, Teams of Five match, 8pm, 2x20: Dianne Grain, Erin Little. On call: Stephen Thessman, Mark Riley, Craig Fair.
  • Saturday 24 August, Triangular Open match, 2pm, 1x10 + 1x20: David Grain, Dianne Grain.  Emergency: Mark Riley. On call: Craig Fair.
  • Sunday 25 August, Round 1 Intercollegiate match, 2pm, Newtown range, 1x10.  Wellington College: Casey Israelson, Josh Whitehead, Finn Ashby, Jack Day.  Marsden: Cassie Truscott, Emily Lockery.  Tawa: Maia Lapointe.  Queen Margarets: Megan Brodie.  Scots: Ferghus Meighan.
  • Saturday 31 August, BSA Cup Match, 1pm, Levin range: Evan Little.
  • Saturday 31 August, Osmond Shield and Wright Cup matches, 7.30pm, 1x10 in seeded order, teams to be named Friday 23 August.
  • Sunday 1 September, intercollegiate representative match, 2pm, Newtown range, 2x10.  Wellington team named Sunday 25 August.
  • Sunday 1 September, deadline for Round 6 closed champs.
  • Sunday 1 September, deadline for Round 4 Triple S champs.