Our college training squad practised another 20-shot card this week with all improving on last week's score. Elena Torres and Bex Amos both scored highest (179.1) with Elena having the best 10-shot score this week of 91.1. Hamish Guthrey continues to record new PBs, shooting a very impressive 94.4 this week. It was really good to see so many using the 'free' week between series to shoot their marksmen's badges.

Top D Grade shooter was Luisa Kristen with 94.3 followed by Neakiry Kivi with 93.2. In C Grade Jialin Sae-Jiw had a great night, shooting 97.4, 97.3 and 96.4, while Erin Little and Greg Mason also recorded 96s. Craig Fair recorded the highest score in B Grade this week (97.3), Dianne Grain shot 100.6 in A Grade, and Evan Little's 100.7 was highest in Master Grade. In the 20-shot competition, Michael Grain scored 200.15 followed by Meredith Ackrill with 198.11.

The Teams of Five match was held on Monday. This is always a tough competition for B Graders and below, needing to shoot 2x20 shot cards with only a short break between. Both Wellington teams recorded a result between their 2012 and 2013 scores, as is happening with most representative matches this season. Congratulations to Callum Osborne on being the top shot in the #2 team with 383.16.

The Brooklyn interclub teams had a clean sweep in the final round held on Thursday. Our top shots in each grade were Stephen Thessman 95.3, Craig Fair 96.4 and Pratik Tailor 198.11. The 2014 interclub winners are South Wellington (C Grade), Wellington Central (B Grade) and Brooklyn (Open Grade). Congratulations to our open team of Michael Grain, Pratik Tailor, Meredith Ackrill, David Grain, Evan Little and Ross Little on once again being unbeaten throughout this competition. Congratulations also to Stephen Thessman on winning the C Grade individual aggregate award for achieving the highest total score across all six rounds of the interclub competition - Stephen finished 6 points ahead of his nearest rival. Michael Grain enjoyed really intense competition for the open grade interclub aggregate award this year - after four rounds he was ahead by one point, holding that one-point lead during round 5, but losing a point in the last round so it all came down to inners. Out of a possible 1200.120, the Open Grade individual aggregate was won by Neil Kinsey (Wellington Central) by a mere two inners (1186.74 v 1186.72). Our open team will now compete against the Hutt Valley open interclub winners on Friday 12 September. Thanks to everyone who took part in interclub matches this year - feedback from many Association shooters is strongly in favour of continuing with the current format of all interclub matches being shot shoulder to shoulder on the same night.

The Open Triangular match was held on Saturday night at the Keene Range in Petone. Hutt Valley won by 15 points (out of 3000), Wellington were 2nd and Wairarapa 3rd, 32 points behind Wellington. Top Brooklyn shooter was Michael Grain with 295.18 closely followed by David Grain with 295.13.

The final round of the local intersecondary schools competition was shot yesterday. Congratulations to our Wellington College team (Callum Osborne, Stephen Thessman, Matthew Canlas, Rhys Mountain and Sergey Kladnitski) on winning the runner-up team trophy. Onslow were the clear winners, finishing 18 points ahead of Wellington College. Third place this year went to Newlands College, three points behind Wellington College. Those selected for the Wellington secondary schools team to compete in a hexangular match against Waikato, Manawatu, Hutt Valley, Marlborough and Canterbury next Sunday are Callum Osborne, Sergey Kladnitski, Neakiry Kivi and Jialin Sae-Jiw. I t was great to see the enthusiasm shown by our 15 Brooklyn shooters who enjoyed the atmosphere of competing alongside other college shooters. A major highlight was having Sally Johnston (Commonwealth Games gold medal winner) presenting the awards, talking with shooters and taking part in many photo opportunities.

Results from Round 5 of the closed champs competition are now available. Michael Grain has increased his overall lead by another point, giving him a five-point lead going into the final round. The top three in A Grade are David Grain, Jess Fair and Ross Little, while Sergey Kladnitski has moved up in B Grade to now be only two points behind the leader. Our top shooter in C Grade is Jialin Sae-Jiw in 4thposition, and Neakiry Kivi is 3rd in D Grade. Meredith Ackrill, Jess Fair and Dianne Grain lead the women's competition, while Jess Fair, Ross Little and Sergey Kladnitski are the top three in the junior competition. The deadline for the final round is Sunday 7 September.

The Association needs more C and D Graders for two upcoming matches: Friday 12 September v Hutt Valley, 7.30pm (C and D Grade), and Tuesday 16 September v Waikato, 7.45pm (D Grade only). Could all C and D Graders please check their diaries and let me know if you are available and haven't as yet put your name forward.

The Wright Cup match is similar to the Osmond Shield match, but for C and D Graders. Teams comprise six shooters with the best five scores counting. As Brooklyn are the current trophy holders of the Wright Cup, we will be hosting this match on Sunday 14 September. If any C or D Grader is not available for selection, please let me know. The team will be named in the next couple of weeks.

Upcoming events:

  • Saturday 30 August, BSA Cup Match, Levin, 1pm (2x10 UK targets). Emergency: Jess Fair. On call: Craig Fair.
  • Saturday 30 August, Osmond Shield, 7.30pm (1x10). Team in shooting order: Mark Riley, Stephen Thessman, Craig Fair, Callum Osborne, David Grain, Meredith Ackrill, Pratik Tailor, Michael Grain. On call: Dianne Grain, Jialin Sae-Jiw.
  • Sunday 31 August, Regional intercollegiate match, 2pm (2x10): Wellington secondary schools team: Callum Osborne, Sergey Kladnitski, Neakiry Kivi, Jialin Sae-Jiw.
  • Friday 5 September, Wellington v Hertfordshire match, 7.30pm (1x10 NZ, 1x10 UK): David Grain, Jess Fair, Ross Little, Dianne Grain, Evan Little. On call: Craig Fair, Mark Riley.
  • Saturday 6 September, Wellington v Hutt Valley open match, 7pm, Keene Range. Team to be named next Sunday.
  • Saturday 6 September, Wellington v Hutt Valley women's match, 7pm, Keene Range. Team to be named next Sunday.
  • Sunday 7 September, Round 6 closed champs deadline.
  • Sunday 7 September, Triple SSS Round 4 deadine.