The highlight of the week was the Rees Scroll match, shot on a temporary 20-yard range at the Dannevirke sports stadium.  Fifteen teams of 11 shooters from across the North Island took part.  Wellington #1 was ahead by one point (out of 2000) at half-time and finished in 2nd place, eight points behind Manawatu #1 (last year Manawatu beat Wellington by 14 points so we’re closing the gap).  Wellington #2 moved up two places to 13th position, shooting 27 points better than last year.  Congratulations to Pratik Tailor on being “top dog” for Wellington with a score of 398.31.  One of Pratik’s cards was another 100.10, this time with no testers at all, so truly the perfect card.  David Grain was 2nd highest for Wellington with 394.24.  Also congratulations to Craig Fair and Erin Little on scoring new 20-shot PBs of 197.11 and 191.4 respectively.  Next year this match is being hosted by the Hutt Valley Association at the Keene Range in Petone.

A number of new PBs were also shot at the club yesterday: Leilani Fam 94.3, Alaina Wilks 87.2, Hannah Kennedy 87.1 and Peter Kennedy 80.0.  Inge Little scored highest off the rest with 88.0.  Ollie Tuohy continues to improve in D Grade, shooting 96.2 and 96.0, while other excellent scores included Summer O’Dwyer 95.2 and 93.4, Leilani Fam 94.3 and Alex Hill 93.2.  Neil Maddever top-scored in C Grade with 96.3 and 96.4, ahead of Greg Mason with 95.3.  In B Grade Callum Osborne was highest with 96.5, three inners ahead of Craig Fair with 96.2.  Top shot in A Grade was Dianne Grain with 97.3, and in Master Grade was Michael Grain with 99.7.  The best score in the 20-shot competition this week was recorded by Dianne Grain (199.12).

It was great to have so many of our newer shooters getting involved with target changing, coaching and learning to mark yesterday.  The more involved shooters are in the running of the club, the more enjoyment is gained from the sport.

The Poroutawhao Club Open Champs are being held at the Poroutawhao range, approximately 10km north of Levin on State Highway 1, next weekend.  If you are keen to compete in this match, and require equipment to be transported, please let me know before Thursday.

A reminder that closed champs targets have now been prepared and can be located on the table in front of the club results board each week.  The deadline for Round 1 is Sunday 24 May so please ensure you shoot your first card before this date.

Upcoming events:

  • Thursday 14 May, 7.30pm, NDC Round 2.  Open section: Meredith Ackrill, David Grain, Michael Grain, Evan Little, Pratik Tailor.  Composite section: Dianne Grain.  Junior section: Jess Fair, Ross Little, Callum Osborne.  Emergencies: Andrea Tuohy, Craig Fair.  On call: Ollie Tuohy, Summer O’Dwyer, Neakiry Kivi.  Please note further changes to team are necessary and will be advised to nominees later today.
  • Saturday 16 May, Poroutawhao Club Open, Levin.
  • Sunday 24 May, deadline for Round 1 closed champs.
  • Monday 25 May, 8.15pm, Interassociation A Grade match, 1x20.  Team to be named next Sunday.