Many thanks to Mark Riley for keeping things running smoothly at the club each week.  Mark’s wrist is gradually healing and he will hopefully be shooting again soon, but in the meantime he is of immense assistance on club days: coaching, range officering and target changing.

Congratulations to the following shooters on scoring new PBs this week: Jack MacCormick 91.1, Peter Kennedy 89.3, and Thomas Kilroy 89.1.  If only Peter had not cross-fired TWICE onto his neighbour’s target, resulting in a deduction of FOUR points, he would have been in our top D Grade section.

The top shots in D Grade this week were Ollie Tuohy 95.3, Luisa Kristen 94.5, Leilani Fam 93.3 and Ben Cox 92.0.  Stephen Thessman scored best in C Grade with 97.3, followed by Neil Maddever 95.4 and Neakiry Kivi 95.3.  Callum Osborne was consistent in B Grade with three 95s.  In A Grade Evan Little was highest with 99.5 twice, and Michael Grain had the best Master Grade score of 100.4.  Pratik Tailor’s 199.12 was the best score in the 20-shot competition followed by Dianne Grain with 198.13.

Results from Round 1 of the Triple S competition are now available (  From the 91 shooters involved in this nationwide competition, Callum Osborne is the highest placed local shooter, currently in 13th position overall and 3rd in B Grade, Stephen Thessman is 10th in C Grade, and Luisa Kristen is 7th in D Grade.  In the teams results, Samuel Marsden are 5th, a mere two inners ahead of Wellington College and Southland Boys High School.  The deadline for Round 2 targets is Sunday 5 July. Thanks to Mark Robinson for the large amount of work he puts into this competition.

 Centennary jacket 3x5

The Interassociation Open match was held on Wednesday.  It was extremely competitive between the team members, with 11 of the 12 achieving scores within three points of each other.  Top shot for Wellington was Ross Little with 198.10.  Official results from all associations will be available at the end of the season.

The WSRA quiz night on Friday was certainly a lot of fun.  Congratulations to “Big Bang Theory” which included Phil Cox, Ben Cox and Ross Little on their 2nd place overall, and to “Brooklyn Bullshotters” (Craig Fair, David Grain, Dianne Grain, Meredith Ackrill, Ollie Tuohy and Ursula Egan) on winning the “Quizzler” competition.  Many thanks to Evan Little for organising this event.  I understand the Association raised approximately $1000 of which the Association keeps half, and the remainder is divided between the clubs depending on how many teams each club had.

As part of our centenary celebrations, the committee has been organising club jackets.  These are very good quality jackets with many features including a hood.  If you are interested in purchasing one ($89) please let David know as soon as possible (  There may be a price reduction if the committee is successful in its current funding application.                       

The Wairarapa Open Champs are being held this weekend in Martinborough (poster attached).  If you are interested in competing and need assistance with transportation of equipment, please let me know as soon as possible.

A reminder that the 1st Kelburn Scout Group have booked a social shoot for this Friday at 7.30pm (we will set up at 7.00pm).  Could you please let me know if you are available to help out with tasks such as marking, target changing, ammo block filling, coaching, etc.  MORE HELPERS ARE REQUIRED.

Thanks to those who helped with the clean up at the Bell Road building yesterday – a considerable amount of work was undertaken.


Upcoming events:

  • Tuesday 16 June, 7.45pm, Wellington v Christchurch juniors.  Team: Jess Fair, Ross Little, Callum Osborne, Luisa Kristen.  Emergencies: Neakiry Kivi, Summer O’Dwyer.  On call: Erin Little, Ben Cox.  Manager: David Grain.
  • Tuesday 16 June, 8.15pm, Wellington v Christchurch and Manawatu women.  Team: Meredith Ackrill, Dianne Grain, Jess Fair, Andrea Tuohy.  On call: Erin Little.  Manager: David Grain.
  • Friday 19 June, 7.30pm, social shoot – 1st Kelburn Scouts (set up at 7pm, assistance required).
  • Saturday 20 June, Wairarapa Open Champs, Martinborough.
  • Sunday 21 June, Round 3 interclub.  Open: Pratik Tailor, Michael Grain, Meredith Ackrill, Evan Little (captain).  B Grade: Andrea Tuohy (captain), Ollie Tuohy, Stephen Thessman, Callum Osborne.  C Grade: Ollie Tuohy, Stephen Thessman (captain), Luisa Kristen, Neakiry Kivi.
  • Monday 22 June, Interassociation C Grade.  Team 1: Ollie Tuohy, Stephen Thessman.  Team 2: Neakiry Kivi, Erin Little, Ben Cox.  On call: Phil Cox, Rhys Mountain, Matthew Canlas.
  • Thursday 25 June, NDC Round 4.  Team to be named next Sunday.