It was very busy at the club yesterday with 35 members present, as well as 11 visitors, shooting a total of 99 cards.  Thanks to all our helpers for ensuring the afternoon and evening sessions ran smoothly.

The top five D Graders this week were Anna 97.2, William Chen 93.1, Amy Nathanson 92.2,  Qiyun Goh 92.1, and Rhys Mountain 91.1.  It was great to see all 10 C Grade members shooting yesterday – top shots were Erin Little 99.7, Oscar Robinson 98.5, Amalamo Simi 96.4, Inge Little 96.2 and Iain Mackay 96.2.  In B Grade Callum Osborne continued his excellent shooting from last week, this week scoring 99.6; Mark Riley and Craig Fair were next best with 97.3 and 97.1 respectively.  Evan Little achieved the top score in the higher grades of 99.6 followed by Dianne Grain on 98.5.  And in the 20-shot competition Pratik Tailor’s 199.14 was highest.

Our C Grade team were successful in a very close competition against Wellington Central in Round 5 of the interclub competition, with only a point between the two teams.  Anna top-scored for Brooklyn with 96.4.  Unfortunately our open team suffered a very rare loss in this round, finishing three points behind Wellington Central who also gained bonus points for a 200.  Pratik Tailor scored best for Brooklyn with 199.14.  With one round to go, Brooklyn leads the C Grade competition with 12 points to Wellington Central’s 5 points.  Melrose lead the B Grade competition with 15 points, ahead of Wellington Central and Brooklyn on 10 points, South Wellington 5 points, and Aotea 0 points.  The Open Grade competition looks like it’s going to be a close call with Wellington Central having finished with 17 points, Brooklyn have 12 points and Melrose 0 points – the final match is between Brooklyn and Melrose on Wednesday 16 August.

Round 4 closed champs results are now available.  Meredith Ackrill remains in 2nd place in Master Grade.  Evan Little’s 100.6 increases his lead over Dianne Grain in A Grade, and moves him into 1st place overall.  Callum Osborne’s score of 100.6 (new PB) bumps him up three places in B Grade to sit two points ahead, while Craig Fair drops to 3rd place.  Erin Little and Oscar Robinson continue to battle it out in C Grade (currently 1st and 2nd respectively).  Anna returns to the top of D Grade, and Qiyun Goh moves up to 3rd place.  Erin Little, Callum Osborne and Oscar Robinson are well ahead in the junior section, and in the women’s competition Meredith Ackrill has closed the gap to be only a point behind Erin Little.  The deadline for Round 5 targets is Sunday 13 August.

The interassociation women’s match was shot on Wednesday night.  While the team score was lower than in previous years, Meredith Ackrill was top shot with 197.11 followed by Dianne Grain a point behind.  Full results will be available in September.

The National Indoor Champs are being held on Sunday 6 August.  These champs are shot at a number of venues throughout New Zealand, with scores emailed to the organisers.  Wellington Association are one of the hosts for the champs, and will run the event from 1pm until 4.30pm, with doors opening at approximately 12.30pm.  This year will see the introduction of medals in addition to the usual excellent prize money.

The club is on cleaning duties in August, which will be undertaken at 5.45pm on Sunday 20 August.

Upcoming events:

·      Tuesday 1 August, 8pm, 2x10, Interassociation Junior match.  Team: Summer O’Dwyer, Erin Little, Oscar Robinson.  Emergency: Matthew Canlas.  On call: Georgia Karantze, Jack MacCormick.

·      Saturday 5 August, 2pm, 2x10, Triangular B Grade, Junior and Women’s matches, against Hutt Valley and Wairarapa.  Teams TBC.

·      Sunday 6 August, 1pm, National Indoor Champs.

·      Sunday 6 August, Round 3 Triple S deadline.

·      Monday 7 August, 8pm, 1x10 and 1x20, Titipounamu A Grade match.  Team TBC.

·      Thursday 10 August, 7.30pm, NDC semi-finals.  Team TBC.

·      Saturday 12 August, Horowhenua Open Champs, Poroutawhao Range, Levin.

·      Sunday 13 August, 2pm, Round 1 intercollegiate match, Keene Range, Petone.  Team TBC.